Stacks Image 4253


Director - Editor - Writer - Producer

As a director, Sean recently completed The Other Mother for MarVista Entertainment and is in pre-production on the sci-fi family film F.R.E.D.I. for Skipstone Pictures. He has served as writer-director-editor on A Christmas Reunion starring Denise Richards, Patrick Muldoon, Jake Busey and Catherine Hicks for the ION Network, The Dog Who Saved Easter starring Dean Cain, Beverley Mitchell, Mario Lopez and Nicole Eggert for Lionsgate, and The Contractor starring Danny Trejo for the Lifetime Movie Network. Sean also directed and edited The Dog Who Saved Summer starring Elisa Donovan, James Hong and Billy Zabka for Anchor Bay.

Sean's other directing experience include directing the show title sequence for the entertainment news magazine
Extra and three short films, Latchkey which has won awards and gained critical acclaim while dealing with the sobering issue of child neglect, The Huntleigh Files a thriller about teenage sisters protecting the world from domestic terrorists and G.I. Joe: Battle for the Serpent Stone a fan film based on the G.I. Joe animated TV show. "Serpent Stone" was also included in the G.I. Joe: A Real American Hero Complete Series Collectors Set by Hasbro.

Olson has served as editor on studio and TV movies including "Wyatt Earp's Revenge" (2012) starring Val Kilmer for Sony Pictures, the Hallmark Channel's romantic comedies "Christmas Under Wraps" (2014) starring Candace Cameron-Bure, David O'Donnell and Brian Doyle-Murrary and "Your Love Never Fails" (2011) starring Elisa Donovan, Tom Skerritt, Fred Willard and John Schneider, Lifetime thrillers "Stolen Child" (2012) starring Emmanuelle Vaugier and Corbin Bernsen and "The Perfect Student" (2011) starring Natasha Henstridge and ABC Families' "The Dog Who Saved Christmas Vacation" (2010) starring Gary Valentine, Paris Hilton and Casper Van Dien. Sean has also worked on Blu-Ray content for the blockbuster films "The Dark Knight" (2008), "Wanted" (2008), "The Mummy: Tomb of the Dragon Emperor" (2008), and "Hellboy II:The Golden Army" (2008).

Sean's experience in the festival circuit is impressive. Not only has Sean edited films that competed at Florida, Rotterdam, Shanghai, Sydney, San Sebastian and other high profile film festivals, but the first feature he cut, "How the Garcia Girls Spent Their Summer" (2005) starring America Ferrera and Elizabeth Pena was selected to the 2005 Sundance Film Festival. "Garcia Girls" went on to win the Perspectives Award at the Moscow Film Festival, the Critics Prize at Cinema Paris and the Audience Award at the River Run Film Festival. Since then he's edited many independent films, including "Inside" (2006) starring Leighton Meester which won the Grand Jury Prize at Dances with Films 2006, "The Standard" (2007) starring Taylor Handley which won Best Picture at the 2007 Flymz Film Festival and "The Passing" (2005) starring Paul Gleason for which he won best editor at the 2005 Shriekfest Film Festival.

Sean won back to back "Best Editing" awards in the 48 Hour Film Projects for his work on the science-fiction short "Into the Maelstrom" (2004) and the 24 parody "07" (2005).

Olson's television work has been on the top networks including Fox's "America's Most Wanted", Animal Planet's "Untamed and Uncut", MTV's "Pranked", Discovery's "Rampage" series, A&E's "Between the Line's" (hosted by Robert Downey Jr.), History's "Shockwave", the Science Channel's "Against the Elements" and the entertainment news magazine shows "Extra" (hosted by Mario Lopez), "CW Now" and "TMZ".

He has helped take television pilots from their inception to the living room with shows such as "Crime Watch Daily", "Dr. Drew's Lifechangers", the CW's "H8er", the syndicated entertainment news magazine "Celebrity Justice" and the reality series "Starting Over".

In 1998 Sean edited his first documentary, the Emmy award winning "The Face in the Mirror" about domestic violence for the ABC Denver affiliate KMGH. "The Face in the Mirror" also won McGraw-Hill's 2001 Corporate Achievement Award and was recognized by the city of Denver. As a news editor he placed 4 times nationally in the National Press Photographers Association's annual editing competition and was nominated for 5 Emmys, winning 3.